Tags

, , ,

This is deceptively good.  It tastes like it was a lot of trouble, but it’s SO easy.  I’ll put it this way:  I gladly make it for a weeknight dinner, but I’m also cooking it for my husband’s work party at our house. 

Begin, as I typically do, with boneless skinless chicken breasts.  BLSLCB.  Nope, I guess it doesn’t work as an acronym.  BSCB? Maybe.

Anyway, dredge each side of the chicken in flour and brown it up in a skillet with a bit of oil.  We’re not battering it here, just dip it in some flour and shake off the excess.  Keep the heat to medium.  You don’t want to over cook the outside before the inside gets done.

When the first side is browned, turn it over and brown the other side.

Then, remove your cooked chicken to a plate.

Now, turn your attention back to the pan.

There should be lots of good yummy brown stuff stuck to the pan. We’re gonna use that.  Get 3/4 Cup of chicken broth. 

We skipped salting the chicken so it’s okay to use the full sodium variety.  If you’ve got low sodium broth, you might want to salt the chicken before dredging in flour.

Pour in the chicken broth and stir/scrape the bottom of the pan to release all those little brown bits.

Bring it up to a boil.

Now, cut in four ounces–half a block–of cream cheese.

Whisk the sauce until the cream cheese melts.

Keep whisking until it looks like this:

Now, return your chicken to the pan.

Turn it over to coat it with the sauce.

Then, remove the chicken to your serving dish.  Pour any remaining sauce on top.

Top with sliced cherry or Roma tomatoes and torn basil leaves.  Serve with pasta or risotto and salad.

In’t that purty?! 🙂

As I said, I’m making it for a party in a few days.  I plan to brown the chicken early and warm it in the oven while I make double, or triple, the sauce.

