Tags

, ,

As always, I must begin my homeschool post by saying this:

Not all homeschooling methods and curriculums are the same.  The awesome thing about homeschool is choosing what works for you and your family.  I do not presume to tell other people what works for their kids.

I say all that because, as a homeschooling mom, I know there’s a lot of stress and self-doubt.  “Am I doing enough?  They’re doing that??  Maybe we should be doing that!!”  I wax and wane between that stressful place and the happier place of “Hey, we’re getting the hang of this homeschoolin’ thing.  What works for us is good enough.” 

IF (notice the big if), IF your family needs math drill sheets, I have an excellent resource for you.

www.mathfactcafe.com

I love the Math Fact Cafe.  There are pre-designed math drill pages or you can make your own.  It is a bit trixy in the beginning, but once you figure out how the form works, (you must type “1 to 20” not “1-20” for example) it’s a cinch.

You can even create a form and have them email you a worksheet each day.  My curriculum suggested that my daughter memorize her addition and subtraction facts through ten before moving on to the next phase dealing with tens and ones.  (If yours is different, that’s okay!!!) 

I didn’t want to spend lots of time drilling, using flash cards or the same ol’ worksheets.  Basically, I didn’t want her to “memorize” them but to use them so often it was automatic, almost instinctive.  You do something so many times that you don’t even have to think about it.  That’s more than memorizing in my opinion.

I have memorized poetry, but I can’t recite “Ozymandias” or Marc Antony’s speech anymore, but there are commercial slogans I could probably recite (“seeing green is saving green!”, “At Standard Insurance, we take better care of you.”)  without having ever set out to commit that to memory.

I dare you to look at this and not think of the answer.

2 + 3

You’re thinking it.  I know you are!  Don’t think it. . .

That’s what I wanted my first grader to absorb, so I made a little form, a daily worksheet, for her to do each morning.  Nothing too long that it becomes tedious.  Hopefully easy enough that she won’t have to go counting fingers. 

Of course, one of the easiest ways to drill math facts, or any facts for that matter, is a pop quiz at the stop light. 

We’ve played this sort of car games as long as I can remember.

“What do you get when you mix blue and yellow?”

“What does a cow say?”

“What shape is that sign?”

“What’s one more than seventeen?”

“What rhymes with ‘cat’?”

This can go on throughout your homeschooling experience.

Someday, “What’s Avogadro’s number?”

“What’s the square root of 289?”

“What is needed in the process of mitochondrial respiration.”

“If a ball is thrown off a 25 foot cliff at 35 miles per hour, how far away will it touch the ground?” 

Okay, maybe not.

Although. . .

knowing me. . .

it could happen.

Gotta buff up for Trivial Pursuit. 

My poor children.

