Yes, I lead a trivial life.  Want proof?

The Man of the House and I decided to play a board game last weekend.  I opened our game closet and saw this:

 

A stack of four Trivial Pursuit games.  Further investigation revealed one more hiding among the other, rarely played games.

Yes, indeed.  A trivial life.  But I’m okay with it.  I’m a trivia nerd and I own it. I find myself locking away useless information for no other reason than:

I want to know all the answers.

I want to know who, what, where, when.

And also WHY.  WHY is the biggest question of all.

If you’ve never ventured into the arena of Trivial Pursuit, here’s how it works.

Each player/team gets a “pie” as the game piece.  You begin in the center and move around the board answering questions that match the color/category of the space you are standing on.

See that orange space? I want to get there to play for a piece of the pie.  Some people correctly call it a “wedge”, but we just say pie.

You need to get all your pie pieces to win.

When your opponent lands on a space, you read him a question.

It would be rude of me to show you the questions and not the answers. Here they are:

And if he gets it right, he wins a pie.

Grrrrr.

This is what you don’t want to happen:

This is what you really don’t want to happen:

Yes, the Man of the House kicked boot-ay this time.   But it’s only because I had questions like the orange one on this card:

A monkey and a lioness?  Seriously?  If you come up with the answer to this, I’m giving you a prize.  (It may be only a fictitious honor, but a prize nonetheless.)

I’ll tell you the answer in a day or two.

Each different version of Trivial Pursuit has different categories and minor differences in questions or gameplay.

A Genus edition (not Genius) covers general knowledge from the dawn of time through publication date.  It can get confusing though, when statistics change.  It may be necessary to consult the box or instructions to find the copyright.  “Was this before Bill Clinton?”  “Are we talking like Madonna or Britney Spears?”

Above is the one we play when it’s just the two of us.  The Best of Genus.  The most recent.

This one is hard.  All the questions are from the last 20 years (Actually, I believe it’s 1983-2003).  You’d think, “Oh, I’d  remember that!” but no.  It’s ridiculous how specific the questions are when they have to write a thousand questions from only twenty years.

The best one for parties is the 25th anniversary edition (top of stack in first photo).   It’s got hard-medium-easy questions, and it’s rather cool how it works.  There’s more opportunity for non-trivial-pursuit people to advance. 

I remember lots of laughs and competitive spirit when my parents and friends and family playing Trivial Pursuit in guys vs. girls games on New Year’s Eve. 

I really believe in playing games with your family.  Even if Trivial Pursuit ain’t your thang, pull out a game or two this holiday.  Make a memory.

 

 

Oh, and that Star Wars Edition?  That’s all him.  I tried it once, and it was a futile endeavor.  “Resistance is futile.”  No, wait, that’s Star Trek.  Nevermind.

 

 

 

