Tags

,

I think that was the scariest question for me when I began scrapbooking.  Where do I start?

I wanted to scrapbook all the important memories and photos of my daughter’s childhood.  But I didn’t begin when she was born! 

The task of organizing and selecting photos was momentous.  Added to the thought of learning a new craft–scrapbooking–it seemed impossible.

That’s when I turned to my friend and scrapbook mentor for advice.  She offered this profound bit of crafty wisdom:

Start now!  Begin where you are and work your way backward.

Looking back, I laugh because my daughter was only 2 1/2 at the time.  Lots of people are more than two and a half years behind. The advice applies there too.  Begin with now and work your way back.

If you were to try to begin at the beginning–or the last place you left off scrapbooking–you’d probably be frustrated.  The pressure of trying to document things you hardly remember anymore can make it less fun.

By beginning with the most recent events, you remember more about them.  You can be more detailed.  Chosing the colors and textures for your page even becomes more fun.  My very first scrapbook page was a photo of my daughter playing under the kitchen table.  I journaled about who she was at 2 1/2.  The things she liked to eat, her favorite music, her personality.  It was more meaningful than, ‘Here you are playing under the table.” 

There is another page in that first book about her playing with a doll and changing its diaper.  If I had waited until her baby book was finished, I probably would have forgotten what she said when she changed that diaper.

Yes, I said her baby book.  A year later, when I had a few more skills under my belt and chosing a layout wasn’t so hard, I made a small album for her.  It was a gift to her when her new baby sister was born.  A simple, 8×8 album with my favorite photos of her first year of life–I made them all black and white to keep it cohesive.  I used the same color scheme through the whole book and there’s almost no journalling.  I put in a few quotes from her baby book. Just things I’d jotted down as they happened. 

Eventually, I filled in the 12 x 12 album with a few pages between one-year-old and two-and-a-half. 

It’s much easier to fill in holes later than to be always behind. 

So, if it’s two years, ten years, or twenty since your child was born or your marriage or whatever, who cares!?!  Start now.  Scrapbook about what you love–the hummingbird out the window, your favorite pie, going to the theatre with your granddaughter. 

If the craft appeals to you, just jump in.  What are you waiting for? 

Another twenty years to pass?

