It’s a great day to be alive!
I know the sun’s still shining when I close my eyes.
There’s some hard times in the neighborhood,
but why can’t everyday be just this good.

I hadn’t heard that Travis Tritt song in years when it came on the radio yesterday.  I forgot how happy it makes me feel. 

It’s a goofy thing, but I just gotta say, I’m doin’ alright.

It makes me happy because it’s not about falling in love or having anything spectacular happen, just happy ’cause I’m alive and I can be happy.

Why not?

There’s some hard times in the neighborhood, but why can’t this be a good day?

It reminds me to just take each day one at a time.  Sure, I’ve got a pile of laundry that could do stunt work for Mt. Everest.  Yeah, I’m dragging a load of debt.  But what’s to keep TODAY from being good?

I got rice cookin’ in the microwave.  Man, if he can be happy about rice  (microwave rice to boot!) then surely I can just be happy for this.

Daughters who consider each other best friends, or as my two-year-old says it, “We’re beft fwiends.”

Family that loves each other and loves God.

A husband who loves me.  (Pardon the really old photo, apparently we need someone to take some new photos.)

And so much more.  Yessir, today’s a good day. 

That pile of laundry?  Well, I’m thankful we don’t want for clothing.

Dishes to wash = full bellies.

Bills to pay = a home, running water, a paying job.

Computer work to do = people who care.  ( Thanks Lois for checking on me and all my homeschool buddies for allowing me to do school pictures.)

I know it’s not Thanksgiving yet, but I guess I’m getting in the gratitude frame of mind.

On another somewhat related note,  Thank YOU! to our veterans.  You are true heroes, and I appreciate your incredible service to our country.  May you have a blessed day in spite of last week’s horrible events.

