Tags

, ,

Wow.  I can’t believe it’s Friday already.  Some weeks just seem to fly by.

I made a new recipe the other night.  Halfway through cooking it I realized I should have been taking pictures to share.  Ooops.  I’ll get to it again in the next couple of weeks, I’m sure.  And it will be better for having been through a trial and error phase.  What is it?  Honey and Pecan crusted chicken. 

Oh.  It makes me hungry just saying honey and pecan together.   Yum ditty yum yum. 

 

 

Little Lady uses First Language Lessons for the Well-Trained Mind for, well, language lessons.  Mostly we’ve been studying nouns, but it also includes memory work.  What with that, Bible memory verses, and her acting class play, she does a lot of memory work. 

I bring it up to share with you this little poem. 

Work
Anonymous

Work while you work.
Play while you play.
This is the way
To be happy each day.

All that you do
Do with your might.
Things done by halves
Are never done right.

This has become our new family motto. Okay, maybe not a motto, but it sure helps when the house is an overwhelming mess, it’s nearly school time, but not quite, the girls are playing, I certainly don’t have time to do everything.  And then I remember the episode of Jeopardy I recorded earlier. . .

When I catch myself wanting to relax during the day, my work day, I tell myself, “Work while you work.”

I don’t need much reminding in the way of the “play while you play” area. Though, I’ve heard, some people do.

And how many times do you think I’ve asked Little Lady to repeat “Things done by halves are never done right”?  It comes in very handy. Instead of whining and complaining and scolding when she throws her stuff in the general direction of the closet rather than putting them where they go, I just remind her, “Things done by halves. . .”

It’s quite useful this one. It must be a universal truth. I think I’m going to look for scripture to back it up.

So today, work while you work. This evening, play while you play.

It’s the way to be happy each day.

Be Blessed,
Lady

