Tags

, ,

Those who know me would probably consider me a crafty person.  I scrapbook.  I have hand-made memo boards.  My girls wear homemade hair-bows.  Heck, I even hang up hand beaded stockings at Christmas time.

But, surprisingly, I almost never to crafts with my children.  You know, the kind of crafts mommies are supposed to do with their children, some cute little holiday decoration.  Handmade wrapping paper, Christmas ornaments, pipe-cleaner spiders at Halloween, pine cone turkeys for Thanksgiving. . .the list goes on and on. 

If you are one of those mommies and you need new ideas, Family Fun magazine is full of them.  Don’t know what I’m talking about?  Check it out.

Something about November gets me in the mood for crafting though.  Busy as this time of year is, I always seem to pull out the construction paper in shades of red, orange, yellow, brown, and purple.

Today, I drew some quick leaf shapes and cut them out for the girls.  Then, we began to tear.

And tear.

And tear.  Until we had a pile that looked something like this.

Next, we employed the glue stick.  Nothing beats a glue stick for kids crafts.  Liquid craft supplies like white school glue and paint make me want to run for cover.

If only I could figure out how to convince her that it’s not lipstick.

I did most of the tearing.  The girls were anxious to start gluing and their pieces were huge.   

Once the leaf is sufficiently smothered in glue, it’s time for the confetti sprinkle.

Then we laid them on the window sill to dry.  Why the window sill?  It was convenient and had plenty of available real estate.

This makes me happy.

After the first seventeen or so, we decided to streamline our production. 

Spread glue, dip into confetti pile.

What will we do with the fruits of our creativity?  Well, I’m not sure yet.  Perhaps we will string them all together to create a festive banner.

Maybe we’ll write what we’re thankful for on the backs.  Or maybe we will share them with our family at the holiday feast.

Or maybe all three.

I could look at these colors all day. This could be my new computer wallpaper.

Happy Autumn!

