Tags

, , , , ,

A few days ago, I got up the nerve to use my overly-garlicked (who says you can’t make up words) chicken. 

I got out my crock-pot again.  Threw in one diced onion, two cans of crushed tomatoes, one bag of frozen corn and a can of Rotel. 

I recently learned that some people are not familiar with Rotel.  This blows my mind.  Rotel–canned tomatoes with green chiles–is such a staple ingredient where I come from!  Now, the ladies who told me this grew up outside of the United States, so I guess they’re excused, but the rest of you better know this stuff!  It’s SO useful.  We use Rotel for everything from queso dip to soup, and I even know someone who uses it in her spaghetti sauce.  She’s spicy like that. 

Anyhow, I pulled out the chicken and garlic, tore the chicken into bite-sized pieces, and added in several (but not all forty) of the cloves.

Since I’m making a soup–you knew that, right?–I added about four cups of water.  Most mexican/taco/tortilla soup recipes ’round here call for a packet of taco seasoning and ranch seasoning.  Since there was already plenty of onion and garlic, I added cumin and chili powder.  About 2 tsp of cumin and 1 1/2 Tbsp chili powder. 

I set it on low and let it simmer until dinner time–about eight hours.

I decided it needed some oregano.  A lot of mexican cooking calls for mexican oregano.  I honestly don’t know the difference in Mexican oregano and regular ol’ grocery store oregano.  I’m sure it’s something dreadfully important,  but ignorance is bliss, so I added a few teaspoons of oregano.

We served this with tortilla chips, sour cream, cheddar cheese and guacamole.  It was delicious and continues to be delicious as leftovers.

The moral of the story is. . .don’t throw away good food just because you screwed up the original recipe.  Unless it’s truly inedible (burned), there’s always something you can do with it.

