Tags

, , , ,

Julie Andrews (Mary Poppins, Sound of Music, yes that Julie Andrews) was on TV this morning promoting a book of poetry compiled and partly written by her daughter and her.   The two shared on air some of their poems and some wonderful thoughts about poetry.

I’ve never considered myself a fan of poetry, but I greatly identify with Julie’s comment that if you want to lift the spirits, or think on something for a moment, a poem is a lovely way to do that.

Click here to read more about the book.  EXCERPT: ‘Julie Andrews’ Collection of Poems, Songs, and Lullabies’ – ABC News.ht_julie_andrews_poems_091006_mn

 

MISSING
Julie Andrews

I’ve lost my sense of humor.
It fell into a well
That’s full of dark self-pity
as far as I can tell.

I’m glared at by the children,
I’m yelled at by the boss.
And every little word I say,
Makes everybody cross.

I’d run away and not come back
If it would do some good.
But nobody would notice,
So I don’t think I should.

I miss my sense of humor,
And if by chance you see
It peeking ’round the corner,
Please send it back to me.

