Tags

, , ,

40 Clove Garlic Chicken

I saw this recipe in a magazine about a year ago.  I love garlic, knew it could be subtle when roasted, and thought, “Wow, that sounds interesting.”

I knew it had to be a part of the Garlic experiment.

I looked it up on the internet and found a few different versions.  This was the easiest.

The beauty of a Crock-Pot, aka Slow Cooker, recipe is getting the slow-cooked taste with super speedy execution.

Usually, you chop a few things, open some cans, and dump it all in.  Then you come home several hours later and it’s like someone cooked dinner for you while you were busy.

The day I attempted the 40 Clove Garlic chicken, I forgot to start early so I was pressed for time (we had to be somewhere) when preparing this.  The first step is to peel the forty cloves.  That was about 2 1/2 heads of garlic. 

That’s a lot of garlic.

That’s a lot of garlic peels.

Peeling garlic takes time.  Usually, I smash it and chop it, but this called for intact garlic.  As I was low on time, I gently smashed them to more easily peel it.

Perhaps that was a mistake.  I ended up smelling the garlic on my hands all day. 

On our way home, I was hungry and eyeing all the restaurants.  “That crock-pot is really going to save us some money tonight!”  I thought.

Then I walked into the house.

Whew!  What a strong garlic odor hit me!  Press on. Coming home to food always smells stronger than when you cook it yourself.

The aromaodor seemed to be growing stronger.  The Man of the House and I looked at each other.  We wavered.  We turned up our noses.  We went to Burger King. 

I had a bad smell stuck in my nose.  Failure? 

No. Garlic.

Perhaps Garlic tinged with Failure. 

We put the crock pot in the garage until it cooled off.  We opened the windows to let our house breathe.  The chicken (and garlic) is in my refrigerator until I get the nerve to turn it into chicken salad or soup. 

Alas, I cannot give you a taster’s review.  But take my word for it.  If you get the nerve to try the 40 clove garlic recipe.  Do not, under any circumstances, smash the cloves. 

And it might help if you don’t eat garlic every day for the week leading up to it too.

Until our next culinary adventure. . .

Lady

P.S.  I think I know what went wrong.  Remember when I said burned garlic can get all bitter and nasty?  I had to cook this on high.  Probably some of the cloves burned. Will I ever get up the nerve to try again?  You go first.

