Tags

,

The week of garlic gave me a great excuse to try something I’d seen on tv and the internet but never tasted.

Oven Roasted Garlic.

Sounds intriguing doesn’t it.

It’s truly as simple as it sounds.

Begin with a whole head of garlic. I used two.

Peel off most of the outer layers of skin, but leave the cloves intact and together.

Then, you cut off the top.

Cut about 1/4 of the way down the garlic bulb so each clove is open.

You’re going to wrap this in aluminum foil.  Tear off enough foil to wrap the garlic, but before you close it up, lube it up with a heavy dose of olive oil.  Rub the oil in a little so every piece gets coated. 

Then pinch the foil together on top to make a little pouch.  You can place this in a muffin tin to keep it stable. I put it right in the oven, on the rack, and it seemed to do fine.

Roast it at 400 degrees for about 45 minutes.

When it’s done, take your purse out of the oven and open it up.  You’ll have something like this:

Allow the roasty toasty melty garlic to cool and each little clove will pop right out.

It’s smooth, mild, and spreadable.  You can spread it right on toast.  I do recommend toast, by the way.  We ate it on fresh italian bread but it was too soft.  It needs the crunch of the toast and the toasty-ness would compliment the garlic.

Here’s something else to do with roasted garlic.  Make a spread.

Recipes I’ve read say mix it with sour cream.  I tried that.  Just a good dollop of sour cream and several cloves of roasted garlic, mash it up together and spread it on toast.  

You can try that, too.  It’s decent, but if I were telling you what to do, and I guess I am, I would say mix it with some softened cream cheese and some chives. 

Spread that on toast too.

This is super simple and yet, seems very sophisticated somehow.

Impress your dinner party guests with it.

