Tags

, , , ,

Earlier this week, we had our first taste of fall weather.  I decided it was the perfect night for this recipe.  It features rosemary which always makes me think of winter, warmth, and holidays.  Even on an ordinary weeknight, rosemary calls to mind an evergreen in the living room.

Begin with garlic, of course.  Three smashed cloves in the bottom of a roasting pan or casserole dish.

 Next, I added another quarter of that onion I used in the shrimp stock.  (I keep it in the refrigerator in an airtight container.  That one onion is getting a lot of use!)

Now, we turn our attention to the porkchops.

Mine were rather thinly cut boneless.  If you use bone-in, the cook time will be longer.

Salt and pepper one side.

Then place them seasoned side down in the roasting pan.  Salt and pepper the other side. 

Now, it’s time to consider herbs.

I don’t often use rosemary because it tends to hog the spotlight.  If you’re going to use rosemary, you need to be sure it’s what you want.  In this situation, it’s perfect.

I added only about 2 teaspoons of dried rosemary.  Fresh herbs are usually about 1/3 as strong as dried.  That means you could use 2 Tablespoons of fresh rosemary, but I’m not certain about that.  Fresh rosemary seems stronger than other fresh herbs.  I mean, I don’t hold a bunch of parsley and smell parsley on my hand all day the way I do if I brush up against a rosemary shrub. 

For some depth of flavor, I also added dried oregano.  I just sprinkled it on; if you’d like a measurement, it was one teaspoon.  (I just used about half as much oregano as rosemary.)  

Once the porkchops are properly seasoned, you’ll need to add a bit of water.  This is our braising liquid. 

Add just enough water to cover the bottom of the dish without covering the porkchops.  This will cook together with our herbs, onions, and garlic to create a flavorful stock.

Put a lid on the dish and bake in a 400 degree oven until done.  Cook times will vary depending on the thickness of your porkchops and whether they are bone-in or boneless.  Mine took about 30 minutes.

Sauce:

When the porkchops are done, move them to a serving dish. 

In a skillet, melt three tablespoons of butter.  Whisk together with three tablespoons of flour.   We’re making a quick roux.

Allow this to cook, on a low temperature, until it is smooth and looks something like this:

Then, pour on the liquid left in the pan. Whisk to combine. 

When it begins to thicken, turn off the heat.  Taste to check for seasoning.  You may need to add salt and pepper. 

Pour this over the porkchops.  It’s also good on mashed potatoes.

We enjoyed our porkchops with sweet potato casserole (made using leftover sweet potato wedges), broccoli (also from leftover), green beans (leftover), and mashed potatoes.  I don’t think I’ve ever been so successful at cleaning out the fridge and creating a meal.  With so many dishes, it felt like Christmas! 

I hope this recipe will shake up your usual ground beef or chicken dinners. 

PS    When you find typos, just leave a comment.  With two littles interrupting, sometimes I lose my thought and don’t make sense.  (That’s right, blame the children.) Coco, you’ll be pleased to know I only wrote broccoli once and did not have to use spell-check.  I’m learning!

