Tags

, , , , , ,

Yesterday, we had one of those busy days where you know you’re going to be arriving home at dinner time and hungry.  Good thing I realized this early because I had time to prepare a dinner in my crock pot.

Hello, Friend.

This is a recipe I got from a friend who usually bakes it, but it sounded like a good candidate for the slow-cooker to me.

Begin with butter.  (Well, now you know it’s gonna be good.  Anything that begins with butter started ahead of the curve.)

I first put in only five pats (tablespoons), but then I decided it probably needed the whole stick.

Then sprinkle in a little flour.  Next, chop some onions and throw them in.  Well, I didn’t have any onions, so “Make do, or do without”, I used dried minced onions and two cloves of garlic–smashed and peeled, but not chopped.  It could have used more.

Then, potatoes.  I think I used five or six little ones. Cut in half, and half again. . .

and half again.  So I guess, eighths. 

And drop them into the crock.  As you see, I used regular ol’ Idaho potatoes with their peels on after a thorough exfoliation.  You can use red potatoes, or whatever you have. 

Now layer in some chicken.  I used bone in.  It falls apart after slow-cooking and separates from the bones quite easily.  Having the bones helps it to not dry out as much.

I also used frozen, because…Hey, who wants to thaw chicken for an easy slow-cooker meal?  However, I must say this.  The Crock-Pot Authorities insist that this is not safe food practice.  So don’t turn me in.

My chicken was thawed and cooking within an hour, so I think it’s okay.  I’ve also cooked roast from frozen and none of us has gotten sick.

Are you familiar with this guy?

If Tony’s in your cabinet, cover your chicken with the spice mix. You could also use seasoned salt, or your own proprietary blend. Tony Cachere’s is quite a bit spicier than seasoned salt, though not exceptionally spicy.   You know your family’s spice preference. 

I added about a half a cup of water to compensate for any evaporation.

Now, pop the top on.  Set it to low and return 6-8 hours later for dinner. 

Alternatively, you could probably go on high for 4-5 hours. 

The flour should thicken in the bottom and create it’s own sauce.  I must admit, I had a little trouble with that.  My flour did not thicken.  It clumped.  Perhaps it was the water. 

I’ll tell you something else.  Next time, I think I’m gonna put a little spice layer on the potatoes before I put in the chicken.

The Man of the House loved it.  The Little Women were divided, but the one who didn’t like it threw a fit about everything last night.  I think we can discount her vote.

 

The original recipe for this dish calls for corn on the cob to be placed in with the potatoes.  I think that sounds yummy, but I didn’t have any corn.  If you try it, let me know what you think.

Aren’t crock pots great?  I think I’ll have another crock-pot dish next Thursday too.

