Tags

, , , , , , ,

(Okay, I sorta stole that title from MOPS international, but it fits.)

Yesterday I wrote about my need to organize my plans and keep track of things.  One of the best tools for organizing a family’s activities is the calendar.

I love my calendar.  

A couple of years ago, my friend had an extra calendar that she passed on to me.

I didn’t know at the time what an organizational masterpiece it would become.  It’s called Mom’s Plan-It and here’s what I love:

To begin, look at the colors.  It’s vibrant and happy.  I believe calendars should be vibrant and happy.  You should want to look at them.  Its a travesty of modern times  that those little planner notebooks either have boring black-and-white or garish, un-appealing pictures. 

That girl at the top is the only illustration on the actual calendar, and really, she’s not that bad.

Now, notice how each day has several lines.  Those are for the family names.  I’m showing October because it’s not filled in yet. (Cyber world doesn’t need to know who and where we are all the time.)  But, if I could show September, you would see that each member of the family has their name on a line. 

Their activities will be listed in their line on the date.  See there on the 12th?  It says no work.  The top line is for the Man of the House who will be off work on Columbus day.  And yes, we’re teaching children’s church on the fourth.

When it’s all filled in, it looks a little like this.

Notice the bottom line of each day.  That’s the best part!  I use the bottom line to write in our dinner plans for each day.  When I hit upon this technique, it saved me from so many “What are we going to eat tonight?  Oh let’s just go out for drive-thru” nights.  Now, I look at the calendar early in the day and set out my meat to thaw or marinate or whatever is needed.

It also helps me with grocery shopping.  I try to “shop the pantry” first and use what we have, but after I plan the menu, I only buy the stuff we need for that week. 

The Mom’s Plan-It also comes with stickers, but most of them don’t fit my family like “school play” or “practice”.  We don’t have “practice” we have acting class. 

And it has a little folder at the bottom to keep up with invitations, permission slips, stuff like that.

And it all hangs on the fridge with a magnet.  I love it.

I realize it’s kinda out-of-season, but the do come out with new ones around this time of year.  You can find it at bookstores, or I think I got this one at Bed Bath and Beyond.

Wow, I had no idea I had this much to say about my calendar.  Thanks for reading!

