Tags

, , , ,

Last week, I mentioned that I was going to buy my husband a birthday present without spending any money. I bet you think I forgot to tell you how I did it.

Well, I kinda did. I forgot to take a picture of his present, a new shirt, before giving it to him and now it’s already worn and at the bottom of a pile of laundry. So, I guess I could wait until the laundry is done and fold it up and put it in a lovely box and take a picture and fool you all, but that wouldn’t be very nice, would it? Plus, you’d have to wait a few more days for me to post that.

Several years ago, I signed up to receive the JCPenney catalog. I just like browsing catalogs. It’s like shopping, but it takes more effort to buy something from a catalog so I usually don’t.

Somewhere along the way, they quit sending me the catalog, just a ticket to pick up a catalog in store. BUT, I still get notice of any sales plus lots of coupons. Including several of these:

08 13 09_3665

You may not be able to read the fine print. It’s $10 off a purchase of $10 or more.

You know what they say about something that’s too good to be true. Originally, I thought that about these coupons. But I have taken these into JCPenney on several occasions, picked up an item for $9.99 and checked out for free.

That’s right, somehow the $9.99 things count for the $10 or more deal.

I didn’t really think that would work, but it did.

They usually come around Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, a few in the Fall and Christmas seasons.

I’ve used them for shirts, jewelry, and other things.

The trick really is to look for the $10 items to use them on. For example, they had men’s shorts and certain polo style shirts on sale that week. So, I just asked the Man of the House which one he needed and went shopping.

I was really worried JCPenney might be going out of business when I first received one of these. It’s been a year or two, so I guess they are working to get people into the store. Unless you all start doing like I do and getting their stuff for free.

Hey, then they’ll stop sending me these coupons!

Nevermind. It’s a bad idea. I don’t know what I’m talking about.

Lady

