Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

08 06 09_3491

Or Banana Muffins in this case.

We had a bunch of bananas that went prematurely brown–a rare occurence with my little monkeys in the house. So I decided to make banana muffins. I pulled out the only recipe I had and–yuck! They turned out too starchy and dry. My mother’s banana bread is delicious, but too dense for muffins. What’s a girl to do?

I made up my own recipe this morning. They’re just right, Goldilocks.

(The pictures featured in this post were taken during the preparation of the first batch, the starchy ones. I don’t think I changed much about the technique, just the ingredients.)

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Begin with the dry ingredients.

08 06 09_3480

Sift together 2 Cups of all-purpose flour, 2 tsps. baking powder, 1 tsp baking soda, and 1/2 tsp of salt. I dump everything in a wire mesh strainer and just shake it over a bowl to sift.

Now, the wet ingredients.

08 06 09_3485_edited-1 Does anybody else have the urge to sing a Wiggles Song when you see this?

Mash up 2-3 mushy bananas. Mix in 1/2 Cup of sugar.

Add one slightly beaten egg. And 5 Tbsp. melted butter.

08 06 09_3484

Stir in one 1/2 C milk.

Mix all the wet ingredients thoroughly.

Let’s pause for a word about topping. I love toppings on muffins. It’s what gives them that bakery taste instead of just plain-ol-mix muffins.

For these, I mixed together about 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and 1-2 tablespoons of wheat germ. See my wheat germ post. Once that’s ready to go, you may return to your regularly-scheduled mixing.

08 06 09_3487

Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir just until combined. Do Not EVER overmix your muffins. A few lumps are okay.

08 06 09_3488

If you have the patience, letting the batter sit for five minutes will dissolve most of the lumps, but c’mon there’s muffins on the way. . .who can wait!?

08 06 09_3489

So dish them out in to an oiled muffin tin. (Spray oil can leave a gummy residue that has ruined two of my best pieces of cookware, so I’m scared of it now.) Sprinkle a little topping on each one and bake for 15-17 minutes.

08 06 09_3490

Let them cool in the pan for a minute or two or they’ll fall apart. Much longer than that and they’ll stick.

08 08 09_3572_edited-1

Cool on a baking rack. . .

08 08 09_3575

or serve immediately if the natives are restless.

Lady’s Banana Muffins

